Full-Time Faculty

Daniel P. Ames


Ph.D. Utah State University, 2002
Professor
Water Resources Engineering and Geospatial Technologies
Office 242J Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-3620
Email: dan.ames@byu.edu

Richard J. Balling


Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 1982
Professor
Structures, Optimization, and Sustainable Cities
Office 368G Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-2648
Email: balling@byu.edu

M. Brett Borup


Ph.D. Engineering, Clemson University, 1985.
Associate Professor
Environmental Engineering
Office 242G Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6311
Email: borupb@byu.edu

Fernando S. Fonseca


Ph.D. Structural Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1997.
Associate Professor
Structural Engineering
Office 368R Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6329
Email: fonseca@byu.edu

Kevin W. Franke


Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Brigham Young University, 2011.
Assistant Professor
Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering & UAV applications to Civil Engineering
Office 368P Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-1349
Email: kfranke@et.byu.edu

W. Spencer Guthrie


Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Texas A&M University, 2002.
Professor
Materials & Pavements
Office 368D Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-3864
Email: guthrie@byu.edu
Personal Website: http://www.et.byu.edu/~guthrie/research/index.html

Rollin H. Hotchkiss


Ph.D. University of Minnesota, Department of Civil and Mineral Engineering, 1989.
Professor/Department Chair
Hydraulics & Water Resources
Office 368C Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6234
Email: rhh@byu.edu

David W. Jensen


Ph.D. Structures Technology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1986.
Professor
Structures & Composites
Office 368E Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-2094
Email: david@byu.edu

Norman L. Jones


Ph.D. Civil Engineering, University of Texas, 1990.
Professor
Geotechnical Engineering
Office 242L Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-7569
Email: norm@byu.edu
Personal Website: http://www.emrl.byu.edu/njones/

A. Woodruff Miller


Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Stanford University, 1975.
Professor
Hydraulics & Hydrology
Office 368L Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6331
Email: wood_miller@byu.edu

E. James Nelson


Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Brigham Young University, 1994.
Professor
Hydrology & GIS
Office 242K Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-7632
Email: jimn@byu.edu
Personal Website: http://www.emrl.byu.edu/jnelson/

Paul W. Richards


Ph.D. Structural Engineering, University of California San Diego, 2004.
Associate Professor
Structures
Office 368N Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6333
Email: prichards@et.byu.edu

Kyle M. Rollins


Ph.D. Geotechnical Engineering, University of CA, Berkeley, 1987.
Professor
Geotechnical Engineering
Office 368K Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6334
Email: rollinsk@byu.edu

Mitsuru Saito


Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Purdue University, 1988.
Professor
Transportation Engineering
Office 368J Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6326
Email: msaito@byu.edu

Grant G. Schultz


Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Texas A&M University, 2003.
Professor/Associate Department Chair
Transportation Engineering
Office 368H Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6332
Email: gschultz@byu.edu

Michael A. Scott


Ph.D. Computational Science, Engineering, and Mathematics, University of Texas at Austin, 2011.
Assistant Professor
Structural Mechanics
Office 368S Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-6324
Email: michael.scott@byu.edu
Personal Website: http://isogeometric.et.byu.edu/

Gus Williams


Ph.D. Civil Engineering, Northwestern University, 1994.
Associate Professor
Environmental Engineering & Hydrology
Office 242F Clyde Building
Telephone: (801) 422-7810
Email: gwilliams@et.byu.edu