2012 Annual University Conference Awards

Four of the BYU Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering's most outstanding professors were honored in the 2012 Annual University Conference Awards.

AUGUST 20-23, 2012

"A Unique University in All of the World"


Karl G. Maeser Exellence in Teaching Award

This award honors faculty for outstanding teaching accomplishments and is made possible by the Karl G. Maeser Scholarship Society.

Rollin H. Hotchkiss

Rollin H. Hotchkiss's singular focus to his personal mission statement of "build, enable, and open the door" helps him to successfully develop the raw potential of students in their personal and professional lives. He genuinely cares for his students by getting to know them by patiently helping them through the rigors of university studies. He is an excellent mentor, and students line up at his door to be accepted into his research group. He has high expectations but is intensely committed to helping students achieve, and while the love him for his loyalty, they are blessed even more from his demanding expectations that result in high quality education.




Karl G. Maeser Research and Creative Arts Award

This award honors faculty for outstanding research and creative accomplishments and is made possible by the generosity of the Karl G. Maeser Scholarship Society.

Norman L. Jones

Norman L. Jones graduated with a PhD from the University of Texas at Austin in 1990 and then returned to join the faculty of the Civil Engineering Department at BYU, where he did his undergraduate work. He helped found the Environmental Modeling Research Laboratory (EMRL) and has headed that group since its inception. The technology developed by the EMRL was spun off into the corporation Aquaveo, which now serves over 5,000 customers in more than 100 countries worldwide. Dr Jones was the principle investigator responding for the creation of both the Groundwater Modeling System and the GIS extension Arc Hydro Groundwater. He is a past recipient of the Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize and the BYU Technology Transfer Award, and he currently heads a multi-institutional NSF research project.

BYU Class of 1949 Young Faculty Award

This award acknowledges outstanding contributions by junior faculty. It is made possible by the generosity of the Class of 1949.

Grant G. Schultz











Phi Kappa Phi Award

This award is presented to a faculty member who has achieved excellence in scholarly and creative endeavors, exemplifies integrity, and has contributed to BYU through citizenship and service.

E. James Nelson

E. James Nelson earned his Phd from Brigham Young University in 1994 and then stayed to manage the Engineering Computer Graphics Laboratory. In 1996 he joined the Civil Engineering faculty and has been a popular instructor and innovative researcher ever since. He was a founding member of Environmental Modeling Research Laboratory and is a leader in transferring technology to other countries. He was the principle investigator responsible for the development of the Watershed Modeling System, which is used worldwide as well as in nearly every state in the United States. He has also enabled study abroad programs to China, Chile, Mexico, and the Dominican Republic. Dr Nelson is a past recipient of the BYU Technology Transfer Award. His indefatigable imagination leads his department in new ideas and research applications.