News Archive

Dr Kyle Rollins Receives James Cooper Award at 7th National Seismic Conference

Seventh National Seismic Conference on Bridges & Highways

Rollins Receives James Cooper Award at 7th National Seismic Conference

BYU Steel Bridge Takes First Place at Rocky Mountain Conference

For the second year in a row, the BYU Steel Bridge team took first place at the annual Rocky Mountain Conference.

ACI Scholarship Recipient Joseph Yaede

Mr. Joseph Yaede received a $2000 scholarship from the American Concrete Institute (ACI) Intermountain Chapter at its annual awards banquet held in Salt Lake City on March 13, 2013.

How highway bridges sing – or groan – in the rain to reveal their health

Just a drop of water can indicate the stability of a bridge

Dr. Rollins Receives UDOT Trailblazer Award

Rollins was honored at the annual Research Workshop lunch. Last year’s winner, Blaine Leonard praised Rollins for his contribution to a broad range of research topic areas and for the innovative and creative ways he has accomplished that research.

Dr. Saito appointed Chair of the ASCE Street and Highway Operations Committee

The Board of Directors of the Transportation and Development Institute (T&DI) of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) recently approved the appointment of Dr.

Dr. James Nelson Named 2012 Phi Kappa Phi Distinguished Lecturer

Nelson has been named the recipient of the 2012 Phi Kappa Phi Distinguished Faculty Lectureship. Prof. Nelson attended BYU from 1982 to 1994, earning his bachelor's, master's, and Ph.D. degrees in civil and environmental engineering.

Innovative Hydroinformatics course unites engineers at three campuses


Date: Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Byline: Jenn Gibbs, UEN


What’s worse for a scientist than having too little data? Sometimes, it’s having too much.

2012 Annual University Conference Awards

Four of the BYU Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering's most outstanding professors were honored in the 2012 Annual University Conference Awards.

AUGUST 20-23, 2012